Federal election: All you need to know around the North

NORTHERN suburbs residents, like all Australians, will vote at the federal election on Saturday, September 7.

The Northern Weekly will be keeping you up to date with what you need to know in your electorate.

We’ll update this page regularly as federal election news for the region comes to hand.


Q&A Scullin candidates

Q&A McEwen candidates

Q&A Calwell candidates

Seeing the small picture in McEwen

Sign of trouble in lead-up

McEwen candidates spell out their vision

Scullin starting line-up sorted


The federal electorates in the Northern region are:


Origin: John Batman 1801–39, the early settler and explorer, known as the ‘Founder of Melbourne’.

Region: Melbourne northern suburbs, running from the Yarra in the south to the metropolitan Ring Road in the north between Merry and Darebin Creeks. Suburns include Fairfield, Northcote, Preston and Reservoir. 

Area: Covers 66 square kilometres.

Currently holding the seat: Martin Ferguson (ALP) since 1996.

Map:  Click here for the Batman electorate.


Origin: James Scullin 1876–1953, Prime Minister of Australia 1929–32.

Region: Northern suburbs, running north of the metropolitan Ring Road. Suburbs include Thomastown, Lalor, Epping, Mill Park, Plenty, Diamond Creek, Hurstbridge and parts of Greensborough.

Area: Covers 169 square kilometres.

Currently holding the seat: Harry Jenkins Jnr. (ALP) since 1986. Succeeded his father as MP in ‘86

* Retiring – successor Andrew Giles.

Percentage: Labor 20.5%

Map:  Click here for the Scullin electorate.


Origin: Sir John McEwen 1900–80, who served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia for three weeks 1967–68.

Region: Covers the north and north-west of Melbourne. Suburbs include Sunbury and Gisborne along the Calder Highway, parts of Craigieburn, Mernda and Doreen, Wallan, Kilmore, Broadford and Seymour, Whittlesea and St Andrews. 

Area: Covers 4,592 square kilometres.

Currently holding the seat: Rob Mitchell (ALP) since 2010.

Percentage: Labor 9.2%

Map:  Click here for the McEwen electorate