Linton’s big weekend

Natalie Linton. (Westmeadows FC Facebook)

Tara Murray

Westmeadows Natalie Linton and Greenvale Kangaroos’ Jon Kent were among the award winners in the Victorian Turf Cricket Association presentation night.

Linton, who was a key player in the Warriors premiership in the women’s competition, won the women’s best and fairest award.

Linton finished second in the runs, having made 221 at an average of 31.57. She was the top wicket taker, finishing with 18 wickets at an average 11.17.

She follows in the footsteps of her sister, Danielle Linton, who won the award in 2018-19.

Nicole Cutajar and De’arne Devereux were named in the team of the year alongside Natalie Linton.

It was a big weekend for Linton, who cleaned up at the Warriors awards night the following night.

She won the batting and bowling awards, the Jack and Mary Davies Club Champion award, best finals player award and the first Danielle Linton award, as the best player in the women’s first XI.

Kent won the VTCA division 2 best and fairest award, the McNamara Medal.

The batsman, who has been a key for the Kangaroos for a number of seasons, made 456 runs at an average of 41.45.

He made five 50s throughout the season.

St Albans’ Geeth Alwis claimed the top award of the night, the Paxino Medal for the best player in the senior division.

The Saints featured high in the Paxino Medal votes, with Simon Lambert finishing equal second with Yarraville Club’s Trent Lawford, and Janoda Arosh finishing third.

All three Saints were named in the team of the year.

Haig Fawkner’s Jaspreet Bhatti and Khalid Hassan, Aberfeldie’s Jordan Kight and Craig Sheedy, Druids Michael Hay, Yarraville Club’s Trent Lawford and Sangaran Nandhalal and Keilor’s Miguel Cummins were also named in the team of the year.

Hay was named captain of the side.

Sunshine’s Kaushal Lokuarachchi won the division 1 Issacs Howarth Medal. Greenvale’s Jon Kent (division 2), East Keilor’s Rasanjana Don Arachchige (division 3), Gellibrand’s James Ryan (division 4) and Footscray United’s Jarrod Eccles (division 5) were among the other winners.